Since WordPress 4.4, the Add New User process selectively allows an email to be sent to the new user about their account. The default selection is to send an email when the account is created/added.
In some circumstances, an admin might wish to set up one or more accounts in advance – perhaps for testing purposes – and only notify the users later, once everything is ready. However, it’s easy to send a notification message when you didn’t mean to, if you forget to change the default notification setting.
This simple plugin reverses the default behaviour so an email is NOT sent by default, as follows:
In standard WordPress, the tickbox «Send User Notifiction» is ticked by default (so a message is sent). The plugin changes this to unticked by default (so a message is NOT sent).
In WordPress Multisite, the tickbox «Skip Confirmation Email» is unticked by default (so a message is sent.) The plugin changes this to ticked by default (so a message is NOT sent.)
NOTE TO MULTISITE SUPER-ADMINS: Adding a user from the Network Admin / Add User screen (rather than from a particular sub-site’s Add User screen) will always send a notification.
- Install this plugin via the WordPress plugin control panel,
or by manually downloading it and uploading the extracted folder
- Activate the plugin through the ‘Plugins’ menu in WordPress
- That’s all! There are no configurable options for this plugin.
In the Multisite Network Admin section, can the super-admin add a user to the whole network without sending that user a notification email?
Not at present, as WordPress Multisite always sends an email in this case.
Please let us know in the plugin forum if you think this would be a useful
Contributors & Developers
“Skip Confirmation On” is open source software. The following people have contributed to this plugin.Contributors
Interested in development?
- Update jQuery code to remove deprecated function
- Tweak to plugin description
- Initial version